<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Spammer Weirdness: Trapping The Trap</title>
	<atom:link href="http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/</link>
	<description>my daily IT madness</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 30 Jan 2012 07:37:29 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0.3</generator>
	<item>
		<title>By: insider</title>
		<link>http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/comment-page-1/#comment-28</link>
		<dc:creator>insider</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 31 Oct 2006 20:35:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/#comment-28</guid>
		<description>yeah. The scanners have no been going for almost an entire year. Only msgtrap2 has been shut down. Despite how openly available the e-mail address was, no one has ever sent a complaint e-mail. I just thought it was interesting to see. And also, by the way, I can say with relative certainty, that I am probably the only person who scans with any real intensity who is left. Spammers don&#039;t really use open relays frequently anymore.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>yeah. The scanners have no been going for almost an entire year. Only msgtrap2 has been shut down. Despite how openly available the e-mail address was, no one has ever sent a complaint e-mail. I just thought it was interesting to see. And also, by the way, I can say with relative certainty, that I am probably the only person who scans with any real intensity who is left. Spammers don&#8217;t really use open relays frequently anymore.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: delmatto</title>
		<link>http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/comment-page-1/#comment-27</link>
		<dc:creator>delmatto</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 31 Oct 2006 15:24:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/#comment-27</guid>
		<description>Well, thank you for your feedback on that matter.

I&#039;m sure others have noticed this before, too.
Most of them if not all surely have not paid too
much attention to it.

There&#039;s a lot of crap email traffic these days...</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Well, thank you for your feedback on that matter.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m sure others have noticed this before, too.<br />
Most of them if not all surely have not paid too<br />
much attention to it.</p>
<p>There&#8217;s a lot of crap email traffic these days&#8230;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: insider</title>
		<link>http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/comment-page-1/#comment-26</link>
		<dc:creator>insider</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 31 Oct 2006 15:16:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/#comment-26</guid>
		<description>Hey there bud. This actually has nothing to do with this current article. Rather, I thought Iâ€™d share a funny story.
So today, one of my buddies sent me a link to your site. Specifically, an April 06 entry.
And yeah, I just wanted to congratulate you on killing my old seed e-mail account awhile back(msgtrap2).
I use it to test the effectiveness of spam blacklists (njabl, spamhaus, spamcop, you name it), and yeah. I was quite impressed that someone finally noticed and did something about it.
Iâ€™m sure youâ€™ll be happy to know, the gmail did eventually disconnect the account, an action that had not occured before or since. Of course, it didnt take long to get a new one (yay gmail spoolers), but still. Impressive.
And before you hop on that whois site, I feel you should know that yes, this server is not home computer. Itâ€™s from a friendâ€™s server(yes, it is spam blacklisted). Regrettably, these are the only types of computers I can test from. Also, before you say it, Iâ€™m pretty aware that this type of activity can be somewhat bothersome, but as far as I know at least, it doesnt do a lot of real harm.
Iâ€™ll check back, see if you respond.
Adios</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hey there bud. This actually has nothing to do with this current article. Rather, I thought Iâ€™d share a funny story.<br />
So today, one of my buddies sent me a link to your site. Specifically, an April 06 entry.<br />
And yeah, I just wanted to congratulate you on killing my old seed e-mail account awhile back(msgtrap2).<br />
I use it to test the effectiveness of spam blacklists (njabl, spamhaus, spamcop, you name it), and yeah. I was quite impressed that someone finally noticed and did something about it.<br />
Iâ€™m sure youâ€™ll be happy to know, the gmail did eventually disconnect the account, an action that had not occured before or since. Of course, it didnt take long to get a new one (yay gmail spoolers), but still. Impressive.<br />
And before you hop on that whois site, I feel you should know that yes, this server is not home computer. Itâ€™s from a friendâ€™s server(yes, it is spam blacklisted). Regrettably, these are the only types of computers I can test from. Also, before you say it, Iâ€™m pretty aware that this type of activity can be somewhat bothersome, but as far as I know at least, it doesnt do a lot of real harm.<br />
Iâ€™ll check back, see if you respond.<br />
Adios</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: delmatto</title>
		<link>http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/comment-page-1/#comment-25</link>
		<dc:creator>delmatto</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 04 Jun 2006 08:29:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/#comment-25</guid>
		<description>This is very unlikely because of three reasons:

#1 the source IP is from KORNET (Korea)
#2 the source IP lacks a dns reverse pointer
#3 Google confirmed this beeing a user account

In general one could assume Google would not use
a korean IP address even if they did a search for open relays.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This is very unlikely because of three reasons:</p>
<p>#1 the source IP is from KORNET (Korea)<br />
#2 the source IP lacks a dns reverse pointer<br />
#3 Google confirmed this beeing a user account</p>
<p>In general one could assume Google would not use<br />
a korean IP address even if they did a search for open relays.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: SomeGuy</title>
		<link>http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/comment-page-1/#comment-24</link>
		<dc:creator>SomeGuy</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 04 Jun 2006 02:22:51 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://phaq.phunsites.net/2006/04/26/18/#comment-24</guid>
		<description>I actually wonder if perhaps Google is just checking mail servers for open relays in order to build a blocklist at gmail.com. I&#039;ve seen this exact same relay attempt by msgtrap2@gmail.com in 2 different mail servers I manage both within the past couple of days!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I actually wonder if perhaps Google is just checking mail servers for open relays in order to build a blocklist at gmail.com. I&#8217;ve seen this exact same relay attempt by <a href="mailto:msgtrap2@gmail.com">msgtrap2@gmail.com</a> in 2 different mail servers I manage both within the past couple of days!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>

